Acupuncture License
- Exam
- Not reported
- Education
- Not reported
- Experience
- Not reported
- Background check
- Not reported
Persons (excluding physicians, surgeons, podiatrists, and dentists) who perform acupuncture in connection with their practices. Fees: Initial Exam Application: $250- $350 Fingerprint processing: $49 if using hard cards- livescan is paid directly to site Approved for Examination: $800 exam fee Approved for Re-examination: $800 exam fee Initial Licensure: $500, including 1 Initial Wall licnese as part of the Initial License fee Wall License: $50.00 for each place of practice address Renewal: $500 Delinquency Fee: $150 Examination Frequency: daily Exam Locations: Multiple locations (at PSI Testing centers as of 10/2018) Experience Requirement: Completion of (1) an education and training program approved by the Board; or (2) a tutorial program in the practice of an acupuncturist which is approved by the Board; or (3) documented educational training and clinical experience outside the U.S. which meets the standards pursuant to Sections 4939 and 4941 of the Business and Professions Code. Average Time to Process Application: 45 days. Renewal Period for both AC and Wall License: Biennially (every second year) prorated for the initial license period to allow for birthday month renewal. Special License Requirements: N/A Comments: N/A Authority: Business and Professions Code, Chapter 12, Sections 4925-4979. California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Chapter 13.7.
Requirements reported by the state
- Licence type
- Registry
Issuing body
- Department
- Department of Consumer Affairs
- Board
- Acupuncture Board
- Address
- 1625 North Market Boulevard, Suite N-219 Sacramento, CA 95834
- Phone
- (916) 515-5200
- Agency website
- https://www.acupuncture.ca.gov/
- Last updated
- May 22, 2024
Occupations (O*NET)
- Acupuncturist 29-1291.00
- Acupuncturist 29-1299.00
- Acupuncturist 29-1299.01
Source and verification
This record is California's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.
Before you apply, confirm every detail with Acupuncture Board — see the issuing body section above.
How we process this data. Not legal advice.