Architects (Architectural Practice)
- Exam
- Not reported
- Education
- Not reported
- Experience
- Not reported
- Background check
- Not reported
Fees: Application for Eligibility Evaluation: $100; National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) Architect Registration Examination (ARE): $235 per division - six divisions; California Supplemental Exam (CSE): $100; License: $400 every two years. Examination Frequency: ARE: by computer, Monday-Saturday at most locations; CSE: by computer, Monday-Saturday at most locations. Exam Locations: ARE: numerous locations throughout California, as well as locations across the U.S., Guam, Puerto Rico, and in Canada; CSE: nearly 40 locations throughout California and across the U.S. Experience Requirements: ARE: five net years of experience through: education or training (work) experience, or a combination of each. Work experience must be under the direct supervision of an architect; CSE: the preceding experience requirements, completion of the NCARB ARE, and completion of the NCARB Architectural Experience Program. Licensure: successful completion of the CSE and its preceding requirements, and submission of fingerprints for a criminal background clearance. Average Time to Process Application: 30 days or less for Application for Eligibility Evaluation or California Architect Reciprocity Application. Approximately 30 days or less for Application for Licensure – dependent upon receipt of DOJ and FBI clearances to issue a license. Renewal Period: Biennial (odd years) on the last day of an individual’s birth month. Special License Requirements: To renew a license, architects must complete five (5) hours of continuing education (CE) on disability access requirements and an additional five (5) hours CE on Zero Net Carbon Design for a total of 10 CE hours. Compliance with U.S. and state tax requirements and family support. Exceptions for license are listed in BPC section 5537 which summarized are: 1) single-family woodframe construction not more than two stories and basement in height; 2) multiple dwellings containing not more than four dwelling units of woodframe construction not more than two stories and basement in height. No more than four dwelling units per lot; 3) garages or other structures appurtenant to single-family dwelling, of woodframe construction not more than two stories and basement in height; 4) agricultural and ranch buildings of woodframe construction, etc. Authority: Business and Professions Code (BPC), Division 3, Chapter 3, Sections 5500-5610.7. California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Division 2, Sections 100-160.
Requirements reported by the state
- Licence type
- Registry
Issuing body
- Department
- Department of Consumer Affairs
- Board
- California Architects Board
- Address
- 2420 Del Paso Road, Suite 105 Sacramento, CA 95834
- Phone
- (916) 574-7220
- Agency website
- https://www.cab.ca.gov/
- Last updated
- May 22, 2024
Occupations (O*NET)
- Architect 17-1011.00
Source and verification
This record is California's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.
Before you apply, confirm every detail with California Architects Board — see the issuing body section above.
How we process this data. Not legal advice.