Body Piercing Salon License
- Exam
- Not reported
- Education
- Not reported
- Experience
- Not reported
- Background check
- Not reported
The Code of Virginia requires that any individual or entity operating a barbershop, cosmetology salon, nail care salon, waxing salon, tattoo parlor, body-piercing salon, or esthetics spa must be licensed. If you are offering cosmetology, barbering, nail care, waxing, tattooing, body-piercing, or ethetics services, you are required to have a salon, shop, spa, or parlor license and every individual practicing must have a practitioner license, respectively.
Requirements reported by the state
- Licence type
- Tied to business
- Military and veterans
- Expedited processing is available for military and spouses
Issuing body
- Department
- Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
- Board
- Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
- Address
- 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 400 Richmond, VA 23233
- Phone
- (804) 367-8590
- Agency website
- https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/BarberCosmo/
- Licence page
- https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Barber
- Last updated
- August 11, 2023
Occupations (O*NET)
- Tattoo Artist 27-1019.00
- Barber 39-5011.00
- Barber 39-5012.00
- Apprentice 39-5091.00
- Nail Technician 39-5092.00
- Apprentice 39-5093.00
- Esthetician 39-5094.00
- Electrologist 39-9099.00
Source and verification
This record is Virginia's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.
Before you apply, confirm every detail with Board for Barbers and Cosmetology — see the issuing body section above.
How we process this data. Not legal advice.