Contact Lens Dispenser

Exam
Not reported
Education
Not reported
Experience
Not reported
Background check
Not reported

Contact Lens Dispensers are individuals who fit and adjust prescription or cosmetic contact lenses. Fees: Application processing: $200 Initial Registration Fee: $300 Fingerprint processing: $49 Registration renewal: $300 Examination Frequency: Four times per year (February, May, August and November) Exam Locations: Contact the American Board of Opticianry (ABO) / National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE) at (703) 719-5800 or (800) 296-1379. Experience Requirement: Applicants must pass the Contact Lens Registry Examination (CLRE) administered by the National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE). Average Time to Process Application: 4-6 weeks. Renewal Period: Biennially (every second year). Special License Requirements: N/A Comments: The practice of contact lens dispensing is the fitting and adjusting of prescription and cosmetic contact lenses from a registered dispensing optician firm. Prescriptions are written by optometrists or ophthalmologists (M.D.). Registration is not required for individuals under the direct supervision of an ophthalmologist or optometrist or working under the direct supervision of a registered contact lens dispenser. The examination is given by the NCLE. Authority: Business and Professions Code, Section 2560.

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Registry

Issuing body

Department
Department of Consumer Affairs
Board
Board of Optometry
Address
2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105 Sacramento, CA 95834
Last updated
May 22, 2024

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is California's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Board of Optometry — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.