Dental Assistant - Registered

Exam
Not reported
Education
Not reported
Experience
Not reported
Background check
Not reported

Dental Assistant - Registered Fees: Application: $120 Practical Examination: $100 Written Examination: $43 Law and Ethics Written Examination: $38.50 Examination Frequency: Four times a year. Exam Locations: Statewide (Contact Dental Board for locations). Experience Requirement: Graduation from a Board-approved dental assistant program or 15 months on-the-job training as a dental assistant for a licensed dentist. Completion of approved courses in Radiation Safety, Coronal Polishing, 8-hour Infection Control course, 2-hour Dental Practice Act course, Current American Heart Association or American Red Cross Basic Life Support course. Average Time to Process Application: 30 days. Renewal Period: Biennially (every second year). Comments: All dentists utilizing a dental assistant must post the duties and functions of a dental assistant as allowed by the Board. (California Code of Regulations, Section 1068). Authority: Business and Professions Code, Section 1752. California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Chapter 3, Article 3.

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Registry
Military and veterans
Expedited processing is available for military and spouses

Issuing body

Department
Department of Consumer Affairs
Board
Dental Board of California
Address
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550 Sacramento, CA 95815
Last updated
May 22, 2024

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is California's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Dental Board of California — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.