Dental Teacher
- Exam
- Not reported
- Education
- Degree
- Experience
- None
- Background check
- Not reported
Upon payment of the prescribed fee and provided that no grounds exist to deny licensure pursuant to § 54.1-2706, the Board may grant, without examination, a faculty license to teach dentistry in a dental program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association to any applicant who meets one of the following qualifications: 1. Is a graduate of a dental school or college or the dental department of an institution of higher education, has a current unrestricted license to practice dentistry in at least one other United States jurisdiction, and has never been licensed to practice dentistry in the Commonwealth; 2. Is a graduate of a dental school or college or the dental department of an institution of higher education, has completed an advanced dental education program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association, and has never been licensed to practice dentistry in the Commonwealth; or 3. Is a graduate of a dental school or college or the dental department of an institution of higher education in a foreign country and has been granted a certification letter from the dean or program director of an accredited dental program confirming that the applicant has clinical competency and clinical experience that meet the credentialing standards of the dental school with which the applicant is to be affiliated.
Requirements reported by the state
- Licence type
- Stand-alone license
- Education
- Degree required
- Continuing education
- Continuing education required
- Certification
- No mention of certification
- Experience
- No experience
Issuing body
- Department
- Department of Health Professions
- Board
- Virginia Board of Dentistry
- Address
- 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 300 Richmond, VA 23233
- Phone
- (804) 367-4538
- Agency website
- https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Dentistry/
- Licence page
- http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Dentistry/
- Last updated
- August 11, 2023
Occupations (O*NET)
Source and verification
This record is Virginia's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.
Before you apply, confirm every detail with Virginia Board of Dentistry — see the issuing body section above.
How we process this data. Not legal advice.