Elementary Education (grades K-6)

FloridaActive
This record was last updated on February 25, 2020, before 2022. It may be out of date — confirm with the board.
Exam
Not reported
Education
Not reported
Experience
Not reported
Background check
Not reported

Specialization Requirements for Certification in Elementary Education (Grades K-6) – Academic Class. (1) Plan One. A bachelor’s or higher degree with a major in elementary education which includes teaching reading at the K-6 level; or (2) Plan Two. A bachelor’s or higher degree with thirty (30) semester hours in elementary education to include the areas specified below: (a) Courses in teaching reading in grades K-6 to include each of the following: 1. Understanding the reading process and effective reading instruction; 2. Recognition and assessment of reading problems; and, 3. Prescription and utilization of appropriate methods and materials to increase reading performance; and, (b) Courses in each of the areas specified below: 1. Content and methods for teaching writing and language arts in grades K-6; 2. Content and methods for teaching science for grades K-6; 3. Content and methods for teaching social science for grades K-6; 4. Content and methods for teaching health education and physical education for grades K-6; 5. Content and methods for teaching art for grades K-6; 6. Content and methods for teaching music for grades K-6; 7. Content and methods for teaching mathematics for grades K-6; and, 8. Materials for use in grades K-6 such as children’s literature, multi-media materials, library materials, and the computer as an instructional tool. (3) This rule is to become effective July 1, 2002, and supersedes the provisions of Rules 6A-4.014 and 6A-4.015, F.A.C., as of that date.

Requirements reported by the state

The state did not report specific requirements for this licence.

Issuing body

Department
FL Department of Education
Division
Bureau of Teacher Certification
Address
325 W Gaines Street Ste 201 Turlington Bldg. Tallahassee, Fl 32399
Agency website
www.firn.edu/doe/
Last updated
February 25, 2020

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is Florida's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Bureau of Teacher Certification — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.