Emergency Medical Service Instructor
- Exam
- Not reported
- Education
- Specific course
- Experience
- Experience
- Background check
- Not reported
An EMS Instructor applicant must meet the following requirements: Hold current Connecticut EMT or AEMT certification or paramedic licensure at the time of application. Have 24 months of EMS experience in a Connecticut ambulance or rescue organization or in the emergency medical care field as approved by the Department during the previous 36 months Successful completion of a Department-approved EMS instructor course of training, or acceptable substitute (examples listed below), within the previous 24 months. DPH OEMS approved EMS-I Course; or NAEMSE Instructor level 1 and 2; or Police Officer Standards of Training Instructor*; or Fire Service Instructor Level 3*; or US Military EMS Instructor; or EMS Instructor training from another state, provided such training followed the latest NHTSA "Guidelines for Educating EMS Instructors"; or Master’s Degree in Education, or Connecticut Teacher Certificate. Completion of 25 hours of student teaching under the supervision of two currently certified Connecticut EMS instructors, in OEMS approved courses Completion of a DPH OEMS regulation and procedure orientation (this may be included in an initial EMS-I course) *Applicants must complete a supplemental module provided by a current EMS "instructor trainer".
Requirements reported by the state
- Licence type
- Stand-alone license
- Education
- Specific course required
- Certification
- Certification required
- Experience
- Experience
Issuing body
- Department
- Department of Public Health
- Division
- Health Care Systems Branch
- Board
- Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section
- Address
- 410 Capitol Avenue P.O.Box 340308 Hartford, CT 06134
- Phone
- (860) 509-7603
- Agency website
- www.dph.state.ct.us/licensure/licensure.htm
- Licence page
- https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Emergency-Medical-Services/EMS/OEMS---EMS-LicensureCertificationExams
- Last updated
- March 20, 2024
Occupations (O*NET)
Source and verification
This record is Connecticut's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.
Before you apply, confirm every detail with Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section — see the issuing body section above.
How we process this data. Not legal advice.