Hairstylist

Exam
Not reported
Education
Not reported
Experience
Not reported
Background check
Not reported

Persons offering hairstyling services for payment. Fees: Initial fee of $50 includes examination and licensing costs; Renewal: $50. Examination Frequency: Monday - Friday. Exam Locations: Various PSI locations throughout the state Experience Requirement: Manicurist exam candidates must: (1) Be at least 17 years of age; (2) Complete the 10th grade in California public schools or its equivalent; and (3) Meet one of the following: (a) Completed a course in nail care from a school approved by the board; or (b) Practiced manicuring out-of-state for a period of time equivalent to the study and training of a qualified person licensed by the board. (Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training.) Average Time to Process Application: 4-6 weeks Renewal Period: Every two (2) years. Special License Requirements: The board may deny a license on the grounds that the applicant has one of the following: (1) Been convicted of a crime; (2) Done any act involving dishonesty, fraud or deceit with the intent to substantially benefit himself or another or substantially injure another; or (3) Done any act which if done by a licentiate of the business or profession in question, would be grounds for suspension or revocation of license. The board may deny a license if the crime or act is substantially related to the qualifications, functions or duties of the business or profession for which application is made. (Section 480, Division 1.5 of the Business and Professions Code) Comments: Fee must be paid each time an exam is taken. Authority: Business and Professions Code, Chapter 10, Division 3.

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Registry
Military and veterans
Expedited processing is available for military and spouses

Issuing body

Department
Department of Consumer Affairs
Board
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
Address
2420 Del Paso Road, Suite 100 Sacramento, CA 95834
Last updated
May 22, 2024

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is California's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Board of Barbering and Cosmetology — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.