Licensed Psychologist

Exam
Not reported
Education
Not reported
Experience
Not reported
Background check
Not reported

Persons practicing psychology independently without supervision. Fees: Application: $236 Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP): $600*. California Psychology Laws and Ethics Examination (CPLEE): $127 Initial License: $231 Renewal: $825 Renewal Frequency: Biennially (every two years). Examination Frequency: Continuous computerized testing for both the EPPP and the CPLEE. Exam Locations: Multiple locations throughout the U.S. & Canada for both the EPPP and CPLEE. Minimum Education Requirement: Doctoral degree in psychology with the field of specialization in clinical, counseling, school, consulting, forensic, industrial, or organizational psychology, or in education with a field of specialization in counseling psychology, educational psychology, or school psychology Experience Requirement: Two years (3,000 hours) of qualifying supervised professional experience, one year (1,500 hours) of which must be accrued post-doctorally. Authority: Business and Professions Code, Section 2914. *Fee paid to an outside entity, Pearson VUE, when candidates schedule their testing appointment.

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Registry

Issuing body

Department
Department of Consumer Affairs
Board
Board of Psychology
Address
1625 N. Market Blvd., Ste. N-215 Sacramento, CA 95834
Last updated
May 22, 2024

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is California's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Board of Psychology — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.