Loan Originator, Mortgage

MichiganActive
This record was last updated on February 25, 2020, before 2022. It may be out of date — confirm with the board.
Exam
Not reported
Education
Not reported
Experience
Not reported
Background check
None

To receive a Loan Originator License, an applicant must have completed at least three hours of federal law and regulations, three hours of ethics (including instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), two hours of training related to lending standards for nontraditional mortgage product markets, and twelve hours of undefined instruction on mortgage origination. This pre-licensure education must include 2 hours of Michigan content. Upon completion of these requirements, an applicant must then either pass both the National and Michigan State components of the SAFE test, OR pass the National and stand-alone UST components of the SAFE Test, OR pass the National Test Components with Uniform State Content. Finally, the applicant must submit a license application to the NMLS. License fees include a $30.00 initial processing fee, $250.00 license/registration fee, $15 for a credit report, and $36.25 for an FBI criminal background check.

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Stand-alone license
Certification
No mention of certification
Background check
No criminal record requirements

Issuing body

Department
Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services
Address
P.O. Box 30220 Lansing, MI 48909
Last updated
February 25, 2020

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is Michigan's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.