Loan Originator

Exam
State + third-party exam
Education
Not reported
Experience
Not reported
Background check
Required

Individuals must pass the national and state mortgage loan originator tests (at a cost of $143 for both), have a high school diploma or equivalent, complete 22 hours of NMLS-approved pre-licensing education, including 4 hours in Washington law, complete a criminal background check and file a credit report authorization.

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Stand-alone license
Exam
Both state and third-party exams required
Certification
No mention of certification
Background check
Background check required

Issuing body

Department
Department of Financial Institutions
Address
150 Israel Rd SW Tumwater, WA 98501
Agency website
http://www.dfi.wa.gov
Last updated
September 9, 2024

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is Washington's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Department of Financial Institutions — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.