Optician

Exam
State + third-party exam
Education
Degree
Experience
Not reported
Background check
Not reported

Optician Licensing Requirements An applicant for licensure must meet the eligibility requirements outlined below: Hold an associates degree in ophthalmic dispensing approved by the Connecticut Board of Examiners for Opticians OR have completed at least 4 years and 8,000 hours of apprenticeship training under the supervision of a licensed optician. Apprenticeship training completed in Connecticut will be accepted provided the applicant was duly registered as an optician apprentice by the Department. Successful completion of the following examinations: The American Board of Opticianry’s & National Contact Lens Examiners' (ABO-NCLE) National Opticianry Competency Examination (NOCE) and the National Contact Lens Registry Examination (NCLE); and A DPH administered practical examination. A fall 2023, examination event is being planned. The application deadline for this examination administration is September 29, 2023.

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Stand-alone license
Exam
Both state and third-party exams required
Education
Degree required

Issuing body

Department
Department of Public Health
Division
Health Care Systems Branch
Board
Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section
Address
410 Capitol Avenue P.O.Box 340308 Hartford, CT 06134
Last updated
March 20, 2024

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is Connecticut's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.