Optometrist
- Exam
- State exam
- Education
- Degree
- Experience
- Not reported
- Background check
- Not reported
Optometrists examine eyes and prescribe corrective lenses or treatment. They examine the eyes to determine the presence of vision impairments, eye diseases, vision malfunctions, or other abnormalities. They are licensed to prescribe and adapt corrective lenses or other optical aids, and provide vision therapy when needed. Applicant requirements: 21 years of age good moral character graduate from an approved optometry school pass parts I, II, III, and TMOD of the National Board Examination pass the Georgia Laws and Rules exam Fees: Application: $300.00 Testing: National Boards - $625.00 each for parts I, II, and III, and $450.00 for the TMOD Georgia Laws and Rules - $100.00 Renewal: $125.00 (biennial fee) Late: $325.00 Examination: Type: Written When: Part I - August and December, Part II - April and December, Part III - April and August, TMOD - April and August Georgia Laws and Rules - February, April, May, July, August, and November Where: National Boards - check www.optometry.org Georgia Laws and Rules - Macon Repeats: Unlimited
Requirements reported by the state
- Licence type
- Stand-alone license
- Exam
- State exam required
- Education
- Degree required
Issuing body
- Board
- Georgia State Board of Optometry
- Address
- 237 Coliseum Drive Macon, GA 31217
- Phone
- (478) 207-2440
- Agency website
- https://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing
- Last updated
- September 10, 2024
Occupations (O*NET)
- Optometrist 29-1041.00
Source and verification
This record is Georgia's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.
Before you apply, confirm every detail with Georgia State Board of Optometry — see the issuing body section above.
How we process this data. Not legal advice.