Optometry License

Exam
Not reported
Education
Not reported
Experience
Not reported
Background check
Not reported

Optometrist. Fees: Application: $279 Renewal Fee: $500 Examination: National Board of Examiners in Optometry Parts I, II (including the TMOD component), & III exams. California Law and Regulations Exam. Examination Frequency: California Laws and Regulations examination (CLRE), continuous. computer-based exam administered by Psychological Services, LLC (PSI); Parts I, II & III exams – four times a year. Exam Locations: National Examinations given at Optometry schools around the U.S. and Canada. CLRE provided at sites located in California and other regions across the U.S. Experience Requirement: Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree obtained from accredited schools/colleges of optometry, passing scores made on Parts I, II, and III of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry examinations, as well as the California Laws and Regulations examination. Average Time to Process Application: 1-3 weeks. Renewal Period: Biennially/cyclical; licenses expire on the last day of the licensee's birth month. Special License Requirements: N/A Comments: Visit www.optometry@dca.ca.gov for additional information regarding available certifications. Authority: California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Sections 1530, 1535, 1564. Business and Professions Code, Sections 3040-3060.

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Registry

Issuing body

Department
Department of Consumer Affairs
Board
Board of Optometry
Address
2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105 Sacramento, CA 95834
Last updated
May 22, 2024

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is California's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Board of Optometry — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.