Physical Therapist

Exam
Not reported
Education
Not reported
Experience
Not reported
Background check
Not reported

Practitioners of physical therapy. Fees: Application: $300 License: $150 National examination: : $485 to the Federation; $100 to the Prometric testing center. No examination fees are paid to PTBC. Examination on California laws & regulations: : $65 to the Federation; $29 to the Prometric testing center Criminal history background check based on fingerprints: $49 Renewal: $300 Renewal Period: Biennially (birth month). Examination Frequency: Fixed date testing 4 times a year Exam Locations: Throughout California and most other states. Experience Requirement: Graduation from a Board-approved physical therapist education program. Foreign-educated candidates must meet academic requirements in Business and Professions Code, Section 2653. Average Time to Process Application: 120 days. Special License Requirements: Private practice physical therapy certification by the Department of Health Services to perform outpatient Medicare services. Comments: N/A Authority: Business and Professions Code, Sections 2630-2632, 2634-2635, 2635.1, 2636, 2636.5, 2650, 2650.1, 2651, 2652. California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Chapter 13.2, Sections 1398.24, 1398.25, 1398.30-1398.38, 1399.10.

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Registry

Issuing body

Department
Department of Consumer Affairs
Board
Physical Therapy Board of California
Address
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2600 Sacramento, CA 95815
Last updated
May 22, 2024

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is California's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Physical Therapy Board of California — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.