Physician and Surgeon

Exam
Not reported
Education
Not reported
Experience
Not reported
Background check
Not reported

Doctor of Medicine. Fees: Application and fingerprint: $674.00 Initial license: $888, reduces to $456.50 to those enrolled in postgraduate training at time of licensure. Biennial: $888. Examination Frequency: Ongoing national exam administered by Federation of State Medical Boards. See their website at www.fsmb.org and the United States Medical Licensing Examination website at www.usmle.org. Exam Locations: Computerized sites, see above for notation. Experience Requirement: Two years pre-professional education, a minimum of four-academic years medical education from a medical school recognized by the Medical Board of California with diploma and one or two-year Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada approved/slotted post-graduate training. Average Time to Process Application: 80 days for initial review. Renewal Period: Biennially (every second year). Special License Requirements: N/A Comments: Please visit www.mbc.ca.gov for additional information. Authority: Business and Professions Code, Sections 2080-2099,2100-2115,2135,2135.5,2141,2143,2151,2170,2184.

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Registry

Issuing body

Department
Department of Consumer Affairs
Board
Medical Board of California
Address
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200 Sacramento, CA 95815
Last updated
May 22, 2024

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is California's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Medical Board of California — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.