Physician/Surgeon

Exam
State + third-party exam
Education
Degree
Experience
Not reported
Background check
Not reported

In order to be eligible for Connecticut physician licensure, all applicants must have: Graduated with the M.D. or D.O. degree from a medical school accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) or the American Osteopathic Association (AOA); Completed at least two (2) years of progressive, post-graduate medical training as a resident physician in a program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) or the American Osteopathic Association (AOA); Successfully completed one of the following examinations: A State Board Licensing examination completed prior to June 1, 1979; United States Licensing Examination ( USMLE); National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME); Federation Licensing Examination (FLEX); National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME); The examination required to become registered as a Licentiate of the Medical Council of Canada (LMCC)

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Stand-alone license
Exam
Both state and third-party exams required
Education
Degree required

Issuing body

Department
Department of Public Health
Division
Health Care Systems Branch
Board
Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section
Address
410 Capitol Avenue P.O.Box 340308 Hartford, CT 06134
Last updated
March 20, 2024

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is Connecticut's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.