Podiatrist
- Exam
- Not reported
- Education
- Not reported
- Experience
- Not reported
- Background check
- Not reported
<h3>Occupational Description</h3><br>Podiatrists diagnose and treat diseases and deformities of the human foot.<br><h3>Licensure Requirements</h3><br>Applicants must: 1. Be a graduate of an accredited college of podiatric medicine; 2. Have completed at least a one-year postgraduate residency program approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American Podiatric Medical Association; 3. Have passed Parts I, II and III (or PMLexis) of the National Board Examination for Podiatry. 4. Pass a fingerprint criminal background check. If the applicant is going to prescribe, administer, or dispense controlled substances in Nebraska, they must provide proof of their federal DEA registration. Ankle Surgery- A podiatrist may perform surgery on the ankle only at a licensed hospital or ambulatory surgical center. Also, a podiatrist first licensed in Nebraska on or after September 1, 2001 must have successfully completed an advanced postdoctoral surgical residency program of at least two years duration which is recognized as suitable for that purpose by the Board. Applicants who plan to perform ankle surgery must submit proof of completion of two years of a surgical residency.<br><h3>Fees</h3><br>License Fee- $131.00, or $32.75 if initial license is obtained within 6 months prior to the next expiration date. Fingerprint Processing Fee- $45.25 (Paid directly to the Nebraska State Patrol)<br><h3>Renewal</h3><br>Renewal is required biennially by April 1 of even-numbered years. The renewal fee is $131.00. Forty-eight hours of continuing education, earned within 24 months of the date of expiration, are required to qualify for renewal.
Requirements reported by the state
- Licence type
- Stand-alone license
Issuing body
- Department
- Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services
- Division
- Public Health Licensure Unit
- Address
- 301 Centennial Mall S Lincoln, NE 68508
- Phone
- (402) 224-4915
- Agency website
- dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/pages/acupuncture.aspx
- Licence page
- dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/pages/podiatry.aspx
- Last updated
- September 6, 2024
Occupations (O*NET)
- Podiatrist 29-1081.00
Source and verification
This record is Nebraska's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.
Before you apply, confirm every detail with Public Health Licensure Unit — see the issuing body section above.
How we process this data. Not legal advice.