Speech And Language Pathologist

Exam
Not reported
Education
Degree
Experience
Experience
Background check
Not reported

Obtaining Connecticut Speech and Language Pathologist Licensure An applicant for licensure shall meet the following requirements: Hold a master's or doctorate degree in speech and language pathology from a program accredited, at the time of the applicant's graduation, by the Educational Standards Board of the American Speech Language-Hearing Association (ASHA). Please select this link for information regarding applicants who do not hold a master's or doctorate degree from an accredited program; Successful completion of a Supervised Professional Experience (SPE) period in speech and language pathology: Please select this link for information regarding approval of an SPE period to be completed in Connecticut. An equivalent supervised professional experience completed in another state may be accepted toward meeting this requirement. Professional work experience in another state may be substituted in lieu of the SPE requirement provided the applicant, at the time experience commenced: Held a master's or doctorate degree in speech and language pathology and was licensed, certified or held an ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence; Successful completion of the NTE Specialty Area Test in speech and language pathology administered by the Educational Testing Service (ETS), Princeton, New Jersey. For examinations completed prior to September 1, 2014, the passing score for Connecticut licensure on the NTE examination is a scaled score of 600. For examinations administered on and after September 1, 2014, the passing score for Connecticut licensure is a scaled score of 162. The Connecticut Department of Public Health's code number for score reports is R-7051.

Requirements reported by the state

Licence type
Stand-alone license
Education
Degree required
Certification
Certification required
Experience
Experience

Issuing body

Department
Department of Public Health
Division
Health Care Systems Branch
Board
Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section
Address
410 Capitol Avenue P.O.Box 340308 Hartford, CT 06134
Last updated
March 20, 2024

Occupations (O*NET)

Source and verification

This record is Connecticut's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.

Before you apply, confirm every detail with Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section — see the issuing body section above.

How we process this data. Not legal advice.