Tattoo Technician
- Exam
- State exam
- Education
- Specific course
- Experience
- Not reported
- Background check
- Not reported
Licensing Requirements Each person seeking licensure must document to the Department's satisfaction that the applicant: Is eighteen years of age or older; Has successfully completed, within the three years prior to submitting an application, a course on prevention of disease transmission and blood-borne pathogens that complies with the standards adopted by the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration, as described in 29 CFR 1910. 1030 et seq., as amended from time to time, and that requires the successful completion of a proficiency examination as part of such course; Holds current certification by the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association in basic first aid; and Form verifying completion of two thousand (2,000) hours of practical training and experience under the personal supervision and instruction of a tattoo technician; OR Form verifying five years of continuous practice of tattooing in this state prior to January 1, 2015. Please be advised that training hours completed after January 1, 2015 will only be credited if the supervisor was licensed during the period of training.
Requirements reported by the state
- Licence type
- Stand-alone license
- Exam
- State exam required
- Education
- Specific course required
Issuing body
- Department
- Department of Public Health
- Division
- Health Care Systems Branch
- Board
- Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section
- Address
- 410 Capitol Avenue P.O.Box 340308 Hartford, CT 06134
- Phone
- (860) 509-7603
- Agency website
- www.dph.state.ct.us/licensure/licensure.htm
- Licence page
- https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Practitioner-Licensing--Investigations/Tattoo/Tattoo-Technician
- Last updated
- March 20, 2024
Occupations (O*NET)
- Tattoo Artist 27-1019.00
- Electrologist 39-9099.00
Source and verification
This record is Connecticut's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.
Before you apply, confirm every detail with Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section — see the issuing body section above.
How we process this data. Not legal advice.