Securities Broker-Dealer and Representative
- Exam
- Third-party exam
- Education
- Not reported
- Experience
- Not reported
- Background check
- None
Broker-dealers that are members of the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) must file pages one and two of the form BD with FINRA designating Nevada as the state requested for licensing. The registration fee for licensing in Nevada is $300 which will be taken out of the firm's Central Registration Depository (CRD) account. Broker-dealers that are not members of FINRA must file the following documents for licensure with the State Securities Division: 1) The Uniform Application for Broker-Dealer registration (Form BD). 2) A balance sheet (financial condition statement) prepared within 60 days prior to the date on which application for registration is filed, prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, and accompanied by an auditor's report containing an unqualified opinion of an independent certified public accountant. 3) A $10,000 fidelity bond in a form acceptable to the Division or proof of membership in the Securities Investor Protection Corporation (SIPC). 4) Form U-4 plus proof of passing the Uniform Securities Agent State Law Exam (USASLE, Series 63 or 66 Examination) and proof that a designated official (i.e., owner, director, officer) of the broker-dealer has passed the appropriate principal exams. Fees may be subject to change. Fees are: initial or renewal license --$300. Sales Representative: A Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) member broker-dealer may apply to license a sales representative by submitting the following to the Central Registration Depository (CRD): 1) form U-4 with original signatures; 2) proof of passing the Uniform Securities Agent State Law Exam (USASLE, Series 63 or 66) and any other applicable exams required by FINRA and the State of Nevada; 3) license fee ($125). Sales Representative of an Issuer (Agent of the Issuer): Applicants for licensing must submit to the Division: 1) form U-4 with original signatures; 2) proof of passing the USASLE Series 63 or 66 exam; 3) license fee ($125). Note: the USASLE is administered by the FINRA (www.finra.org). Fees may be subject to change. Fees are: initial or renewal registration--$125.
Requirements reported by the state
- Licence type
- Stand-alone license
- Exam
- Third-party exam required
- Certification
- No mention of certification
- Background check
- No criminal record requirements
Issuing body
- Department
- Secretary of State
- Division
- Securities Division
- Address
- 555 E. Washington Ave., Suite 5200 Las Vegas 89101
- Phone
- (702) 486-2440
- Agency website
- https://www.nvsos.gov/sos
- Licence page
- http://nvsos.gov
- Last updated
- January 14, 2016
Occupations (O*NET)
- Securities Agent 41-3031.00
Source and verification
This record is Nevada's report to the Analyst Resource Center, published by CareerOneStop (October 2024 export). Everything shown comes only from that report.
Before you apply, confirm every detail with Securities Division — see the issuing body section above.
How we process this data. Not legal advice.